Philippians 3:12 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.  (13) Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it.  But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead.  (14) I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

I was just thinking about this, because sometimes I feel like if I read the right book or if I finally find that perfect verse I will have this huge epiphany and all will be right in m y world. But that is not how Jesus wants us to gain access into his Kingdom.  It has to be sought after and worked for or it doesn’t mean anything to us.  Like the child with to many toys, the ones he just opened for Christmas are tossed aside when the next one comes.

Our salvation and entrance into the kingdom of heaven is not going to be served to us on a silver platter because we know our bible verses.  Paul says he is straining toward what is ahead, not smooth sailing toward what is ahead.  I think we need to be excited about what is ahead, but not expect it’s going to be easily obtained.

Our goals should be aligned with Paul’s, are yours?  I know I have a bad habit of worrying about what will happen next instead of anticipating what God has in store for me next.  Trust is what God and Jesus are all about.  If you don’t have faith you don’t have anything.  My prayer for you today is faith in what God has in store for you life.

The view from here today is spectacular.  The sun is just beginning to rise over the Beltrami State Forest.  The Jackpines are standing at attention while a pink and orange hue dances around the tips of their tops.

Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

