They’re here! They’re here!

This poem was written when I realized that I was in love with Mitch.  I have modified it from it’s original version just a bit.  I have grown as a poet a tiny smidge since this was written all those 12 years ago!

The First Flakes of the Winter Season

The First Flakes of the winter season are a wondrous sight

The chill is mild, not piercing as February winds might

The therapeutic aroma of wood burning tickles our nostrils

A moonlit picture fills the window in our den, glittering snow and we’re thrilled!

The first flakes of the winter season fall straight from heaven to kiss the earth below

One season is left behind, but another emerges, and so goes the flow

He holds me to ease my fear, my pain, my stress and to show is undying love

The fire crackles, the snow falls, he whispers, “Will You Marry Me?  You are a gift from above.”

The moment is perfect and I know the gift is mine

God brought us together and just in time

For every winter until I pass I will cherish these first flakes of the winter season!

Leave a Reply

