Facebook intervention!

Is anyone else addicted to this sick and twisted drug called Facebook? Well let me be the first to admit it then. Hi my name is KarLynn and I am addicted to Facebook. Yuk! Now that it’s out of the way let’s get on to the detox.

The reason I joined Facebook was to keep up with my cousins. Now the cousin who talked me into joining isn’t even an active participant anymore. On to bigger and better social media I guess. I don’t have the energy to get into another social media habit.

I am not sure why it’s so fascinating to look at other people’s pictures and ridiculous comments, but it is seriously getting in the way of all the other stuff I want to accomplish in my day and my night, it turns out. Yes, last night I was up until 11:30pm looking through the Sell and Swap. It’s a virtual rummage sale. Yes I also love to find a good deal and if it happens to be gently used then so be it. A deal is a deal. That’s an intervention for later.

I am a part of an exciting group of writers that support each other in their work. I am trying to get noticed in the literary world so one day soon I can send in my manuscript and hopefully sell a book. Or two or ten! No small job, this writing. It takes concentration and dedication. Two things I am lacking in the light of day. So that leaves the night. If my nights are filled with pictures of cute kittens, old tractors and yummy recipes how can I possibly get to the thing which I have felt is my destiny since I was seven years old? Sad but true, I am an addict.

I don’t know if I can commit to quitting cold turkey, but it may be necessary to break myself of this ridiculous pass time. As of Friday I will be on a Facebook “vacation”. I have more pressing things to accomplish. So if you don’t see me on there for awhile you won’t be surprised. I hope this will give me a chance to blog more too. So let’s see who reads my blog:)

Leave a Reply

