Dirt in my fingers

weeders finger

I can’t even believe how excited I am to have a garden again this year!  I have been feeling guilty about that garden spot growing into a grassy part of the yard for 10 years.  When we moved in 12 years ago one of the first things I wanted to do was find a garden spot.  I found it and Mitch brought home a tiller so we dug it up.  I planted, it grew, the summer was totally dry and a lot of the stuff was eaten by crickets.  We did get lots of cucumbers and beans.  I was disappointed, but wanted to keep it up.  Then I became pregnant and any outdoor activity seemed way beyond my energy level, so the garden went to the bugs!  Every year it seemed a little more work than I had time for especially with a little one.  Then our tiller quit working and that seemed like the perfect excuse not to continue with worrying about having a garden.  I gave up!  Plain and simple.  I had grand ideas of what I wanted to do, but lacked the drive to work for it.  Ugh!

Well now I am a changed woman and I don’t have babies anymore.  Even though I call the two hoodlums babies, they are actually toddlers and can keep themselves busy in the yard just fine.

I was out tilling tonight and every turn I make in that dirt just makes me smile!  The smell of freshly turned soil is so relaxing.  Even with a big rear-tine tiller jarring my arms back and forth through rough rooted grass land.  I am in heaven and can’t wait to get back out there tomorrow.  Hopefully we can get some mounds and rows completed and get some seeds in the ground.

Leave a Reply

