Anyone else dealing with pre- teen issues

I don’t know about you, but I am longing for the days when my son was five and thought I hung the moon!  Today he is ten and I must be the dumbest person he has ever met.

I hear my mom’s words coming back to haunt me.  I hear my self thinking and saying the exact same things she used to say to me.

“What were you thinking?”

“Don’t sass me!”

“Don’t give me that look.”

Oh boy, I have turned into my mother and my son has transformed into a sassy pre-teen who knows everything and has the world by the tail at age ten.

So what is it with us humans and not wanting to follow our parents advice?  Why is it we always think we know better than those that walked before us?  Back to Adam and Eve to find the answer to that question.  Free will and curiosity.

Now I just have to follow Gods example of patience and humility.  Boy do I have a long way to go.  Study and lots of prayer are the best ways to survive these years.  Giving our kids to God is not an easy thing to do, but it is necessary.

Letting go of control is not my strong suit.  I never thought that I was a control freak before  really getting to know the Lord.  He showed me quickly how much I needed to let go of.  I am still working on this part of my journey.  Obviously!

Anyway, my hope for you today is peace with your children no matter what age they are.

2 thoughts on “Anyone else dealing with pre- teen issues

  1. My youngest turns 13 this August…I am so not looking forward to the next few years! He has been Pre-tweenie for a few years now and the struggles have been…well ARRGH! The kids today are a bit different from the ones when my older three sons were this age. My 20 year old even commented the other day about this. “Can you believe these kids…walking around in the middle of the road when a car is coming? What are they thinking?” Yep…we are going to have some fun!

  2. Well it’s so nice you have older kids to have “practiced” with. All I have to go by is when I was a teenager and I really don’t want to go through what I put my mom through! Yikes! Good luck. I love your blog posts!

Leave a Reply

