I have found a Minnesota treasure

The book Quiet Magic by Sam Cook is a compilation of his news paper columns. I have just enjoyed every simple word in the book. I see what he sees when he is in the woods or out in his yard. He is writing from the Iron Range and since I had previously visited and fallen in love with the area I can relate to what he is writing about. It seems that he and his “sweetheart” as he calls her keep a house in the city(it doesn’t say, but I think Duluth). And he travels around hunting, fishing and visiting everyone with a remote cabin in the area. He talks about Wisconsin as well.

I think I feel close to his work, because he emits the same feelings for me as I would like to emit for my readers.  He talks about sitting in the Fall in the woods and waiting for a single leaf to let loose from a tree.  I know that feeling.  We had a hammock set up between two tall trees which was surrounded by several other large trees.  If I laid still and looked up it was like being in a cave of leaves.  The sun peaked through the small opening in the top.  I loved to watch the leaves dance and sing away the afternoon.  These simple pleasures are the reason we moved back here.  And although my husband does not share my enthusiasm for all of the outdoor activities we still manage to have a little fun here and there.

I feel rejuvenated after reading this book.  It’s been a long cold Winter, but Spring is right around the corner.

Leave a Reply

