A Health”ier” Version of Chicken Nuggets.

We love chicken nuggets at our house.  And that includes me!  I have been checking recipe sites to see if there are healthier, homemade versions of chicken nuggets, so we can try to cut out some of the preservatives.  I found one and it’s delicious.  I hope you enjoy it too.

DSC02283

Ingredients:

4 chicken breasts, boneless and skinless

2/3 cup milk

3 cups cheddar cheese, shredded(I found this to be too much cheese – you could cut it in half)

2 cups seasoned breadcrumbs(I used italian croutons and crushed them up)

2 tbsp butter, melted

1 (18 oz) Can of 3 cheese sauce (I bought 3 cheese alfredo sauce, but completely forgot to add this at the end)  They were still really good without it!

1 tablespoon fresh parsley, chopped(I didn’t have this)

Directions:

Preheat over 400 degrees.  Cut each breast of chicken into 3 pieces.  Dip into the milk, then the cheddar cheese, then the breadcrumbs.  Place on a baking sheet.  Cover with foil.

Bake the chicken in preheated over for 25 minutes, then remove foil, baste with butter and cook 10-12 more minutes uncovered.  Coating will crisp and chicken will finish cooking.

While chicken is cooking, place the cheese sauce in a pan and heat it up.

Remove chicken from the oven and place on the platter.  Spoon sauce over the chicken.  Top with parsley.  As I said above I forgot about the cheese sauce altogether and they were still really good!

To complete the meal I made a bowl of broccoli slaw and some green beans.  Very filling and very tasty!

 

 

Leave a Reply

