Luke’s most awesome scripture about faith

Luke 1:25

“The Lord has done this for me”, she said.  “In these days he has shown his favor and taken away my disgrace among the people.”

How great is this proclamation from Elizabeth?  She was disgraced and now the Lord shows favor for her.  Haven’t we all been disgrace?  Haven’t we all at the very least made mistakes in our lives that we terribly regret?  I have.  I lived many years in a life that made me unhappy from morning until night.  I was sad and depressed and I did things that made me a horrible person.  But God has forgiven me.  I am renewed in his spirit.  I am a new person, because He loves me.

Luke 1:36-37

“Even Elizabeth your relative is going to have a child in her old age, and she who was said to be barren is in her sixth month.  For nothing is impossible with God.”

This was relayed to Mary by the angel Gabriel.  She is astonished that she will become the mother of Jesus when she is still a virgin.

vs. 38

“I am the Lord’s servant,” Mary answered.  “May it be to me as you have said.”  Then the angel left her.

Wow.  Trust like that is amazing!

vs. 45

Blessed is she who has believed that what the Lord has said to her will be accomplished.

There it is.  Subtle, yet it shoots out like a stray arrow.  You pray, you wait, it happens, and then you can’t believe it was God who granted you His will.  The question I have heard is, “What if it’s a coincidence that I get what I want after I pray?”  It’s not a coincidence because God has written your story before you were born.  Faith!

Leave a Reply

