25 July, 2012 21:10

Our church library has such a fantastic collection of books. I just love to riffle through the shelves and see what adventure may pop up next. Usually I like the love stories or family stories, but this one caught my eye because of the picture on the cover. I know, I know don’t judge a book by its cover, but I often do and sometimes it pays off!

A Place Called Morning by Ann Tatlock

The story is told in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area and is very heart wrenching and touching at the same time. Have you ever lost something God given that was so precious you just wondered why…. I haven’t but I often worry about my children and that would be the very same scenario. God gave me these so very precious gifts and a simple accident could take them all away. It makes me cry and makes my heart hurt. But I know at the same time I need to trust that God’s plan is the right plan, not mine.

Some of the story elements are very sad, but true to life. The book covers the expanse of a woman’s life from childhood to the end of her life. It covers all the events in her life, good and bad. It also shows how twisted our view may become when we don’t have all the facts. She was actually adopted and her parents never told her. She found out by a letter her mother had written to a friend. She found out after her mother was gone, but the friend was still living. Everyone was forbidden to say anything about it. Including her 3 brothers. That is just one event that changes her life. Think of how many life changing events happen to you.

I hope that you will read this book and come away not with the sadness it brings, but with hope that God will heal all wounds in his time if you allow him too.

Leave a Reply

