Ben

With the amount of homework Ben brings home in the first grade we are left wondering what in the world will he learn in 2nd grade? 

It seems they need to know all of the things I remember learning throughout grade school in the 1st grade! 

I am not sure if I just have a lot more time on my hands to worry about this now or what, but I am really concerned about the pace that the class has to go.  They shove so much stuff down these childrens throats and if they seem not to get it there is not a lot we can do to help.  We work everynight with Ben on reading and math and still his teacher thinks he could do better. 

Wow.  I am not sure how much we should push him…He is in first grade after all.  He can read.  He knows how to add and subtract.  But…when he is rushed or told to hurry up he skips over things and then gets them wrong.  How do you prepare them for hurring up?  I am at a loss. 

I don’t want to freak out and start testing him and all this crazy stuff, but I don’t want him to fall behind either.  I will just have to pray and let God take care of my baby.  Or I guess he is my big boy now!

Leave a Reply

