The “also” principle

I have been attending a bible study luncheon at my church on Tuesdays and it has been very enlightening! 

Devi teaches about The Home Experience.  I have learned a lot about myself and I have only attended three sessions.  She goes in depth about how to take care of our families and our house while doing all the “other” things we have to do.  It really boils down to prioritizing and just getting it done. 

This week she talks about the also principle.  Which basically is just going the extra mile.  She talked about driving around in a $30,000 trash can on wheels for example.  Why can’t we just take the stuff out of the car  every time we get out?  Well because we may be juggling groceries and hurrying to make supper and whatever else there is to do when you get home.  But the trash and bags and what have you will still be in the car the next time you get in there.  Not to mention the fact that now you may have double the amount from this trip.  Just take the two or three minutes and take the trash out each time, so you don’t get overwhelmed with it at the end of the week!  Well I have to say my car is a trash can on wheels at times, because I am in the car for more than an hour a day to and from work, but the principle makes perfect sense, because when I do have a spare minute to clean my car it takes me half the day! 

Devi recommends applying this principle to every part of your life and I agree, however I am taking it one step at a time.  If I tried to get all the undone projects done in one day I would not sleep.  So I am working on my car and my bathroom.  I am trying to contain the trash to one spot and taking my books and bags out everyday when I get home.  This isn’t always the case, but I am trying.  I am also keeping my bathroom very tidy.  I clean off the vanity in the morning and wipe all of the excess toothpaste and water splashes from the sink and make sure the floor is picked up.  Before I would have clothes and towels on the floor and water all over the place.  But I have to tell you since I have been tidying up it is so much more pleasant to walk into!

I hope to keep applying the principle to each room and project, but as my friend Mary just said the other night, “Rome was not built in a day”.  So I guess I am on my way.

2 thoughts on “The “also” principle

    • She wrote the book and now has a mansion for women to go and stay for four days to learn her principles. The study is called the Home Experience. The book is available on Amazon ($25). Our church bought the DVD series and is actually giving three seperate studies at the same time, so anyone and everyone can attend if they want to. It’s that good! I think her name is Devi Thomas.
      FYI – my trash can is not $30,000 either – more like $5000 or $6000:)
      Thank you for reading my blog! It’s good to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

