Zuba pants, ratted hair and Aqua Net!

What do all of those things have to do with anything you ask?  Well if you went to high school in the late 80’s you do not have to ask.  If you didn’t here is a little story about my first cassette.

I found in the Writers Digest how you can write about your first album, but you must have to be a member to submit, because I couldn’t find where to complete it.  So I decided to share it here!  It may make you, 1. smile because you know what I am talking about 2. laugh because you think I am way out there or 3. roll your eyes because you think I am the biggest dork ever! 

Well I have news for you I wasn’t alone in that weight room!  It was packed with 7th – 12th graders all getting along and all listening to the same music.  Very cool I think!

The first cassette tape I ever bought with my own money was Vanilla Ice – Ice Ice Baby!  Oh my gosh, I can’t believe I remember exactly how I felt.  I was in the seventh grade attending Lake of the Woods high school. 
I was working with my mom at a resort cleaning cabins on Saturdays.  I received my pay and we stopped at a gas station on the way home. 
I saw it…I grabbed it…I purchased it! 
Without a second thought of what else I could purchase with that hard earned money I paid $9.99 for the cassette.  I was so proud and excited! 
The older kids would play that song blaring loud in the weight room after lunch and we would all jam out.  I remember the Zuba pants, and ratted hair like it was yesterday.  Man I miss my long ratted hair!  The smell of aqua net and sweaty boys hung in the air, but no one seemed to mind.
Today I still feel the same way when I hear it.  I remember almost all of the words and it brings me back to sitting on the seat of that rowing machine moving my head back and forth to the beat.  What a great time that was!
One thought on “Zuba pants, ratted hair and Aqua Net!

Leave a Reply

