Becoming a writer

With the numerous re-writes I have done to part 1 of my great American love story I wonder if I will ever finish it!

No one ever says to you when you aspire to be a writer that it is going to be a series of writes and re-writes and more re-writes.  The movies and books I have read about authors all paint it as easy as sitting in front of a window with a view and having it all pour out of them right into a best seller – HA!  Not so much!

It’s hard work!  Of course it’s hard work that I love and had no idea I would love.  I have always known since I was a little girl that I wanted to tell my stories in the written form, but editing and trying to make them better were always so much of a bother to me.  Now that I really have something of substance to work with it’s actually kind of fun!  And I have to give my friends at CW props, because they are helping me through this step by step. 

Just as so many other times in my life I thought I knew everything, I realize now how very little I know:)  Just part of growing up I guess.  Being 32 I thought I was grown, but apparently I have a lot to learn yet!  Be patient my name will be in enormous block letters at the top of a best selling novel yet!  One can dream anyway:)

Leave a Reply

